Writing Prompt: Praha 7

May 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

Yes! It’s true and it’s happened. I am in Prague in the Czech Republic and am getting ready to head to sleep for the second night in my lovely bed in my lovely apartment in my lovely hostel. I live in Praha 7, if that means anything to you. If not, it’s like a neighborhood or region of the city in the North, just a rather short foot-blistering walk away from Prague Castle, which is beautiful by the way. Europe is nice. I say this because it means something to me. I’ve only ever been to Asia, so I haven’t had the experience of Europe before this trip. Europe feels like this: drinking, smoking, graffiti, walking, old fancy-roofed buildings and potatoes and pasta. The Czech Republic especially feels like graffiti and unleashed dogs.

This is the street our hostel is on. You can see several different tags in this one picture, some faded or covered up by a coat of paint.

I loved this piece, though.

This is at the John Lennon wall, which was covered with all sorts of beautiful messages and even had a tiled space invader by Invader.

Click here to find out more about the Space Invader project.

So today’s writing post is inspired by graffiti, tagging, street art, whatever you want to call it. Think especially (if you’d like) about what you would write if you could, spray painted on a wall somewhere.

Here are my responses, just random little things. Yours can be longer if you want. What if you could take up a whole wall? What would you tell? Post your responses in the comments.

I once met your grandfather in the basement of a convenience store and he told me to buy the tomatoes in the back because he’d taken them from the chain grocery store and switched them out.

If antennas and planes were underground, do you think we’d have more room to fly through the air?

There is a tree by the river with our initials in it. I don’t know how they got there, but they’ll stay there and so will I.

Have you ever heard a bomb outside your window and the debris splashing up against the pane?

Happy tagging!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Writing Prompt: Praha 7

  • I went to Prague a few years ago and it is a place that gets under your skin in all the best ways. It’s a beautiful city with an odd dichotomy of new and old. The Lennon Wall is one of my favorite places on earth. There is something magical about that stretch of all. I was so moved by it, I re-created the idea in my classroom. For the last three years all of my students contribute a piece of artwork to the wall. Just like the real thing, the wall changes every year as new pieces are added. I, too, add a piece each year. My most recent piece was signed with the quote: There is always a choice. What are you going to do with yours?

    I hope Prague continues to inspire you. :-)

    • Hannah says:

      Thank you! There are plenty of notes on our walking tour of the city and our visit to Terezin that I’m waiting to dive back into for stories, so I’m sure those will pop up as future prompts as well. I’ll spread the inspiration around, just like you did. I love of the idea of moving that same concept into a classroom, or somewhere closer. I hope to be able to bring a lot back with me. Enjoy your own adventure in England!

  • Manuela says:

    Prague looks beautiful and I’m surprised I’ve never heard of it before! :) Love your pictures and I hope you continue to enjoy your stay.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Writing Prompt: Praha 7 at Fly wings, like lace has moved!.

meta

